Come Alive

May 7, 2012 § Leave a comment

“Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because the world needs is people who have come alive.” Howard Thurman

 

I named my blog shescomealive because I want to come alive. I want to follow my heart and my intuition. I realized the uncertainty of years I have on this planet but what is certain is the life I could put on those years. If you would ask me, how is my life and if I had to answer with what I am feeling as of the moment, I’d say: My life is boring. Boring because my life is lack of action. Yes, action, movements. Then, I realized I shouldn’t feel that way, “what we think, we become.” Buddha. So, instead of thinking my life is boring, I should think I have a meaningful life to appreciate. So here I am listing what are the things that make me happy and yes, come alive!

1. Buddha’s teachings and the rest who manifest it. Do good, do no evil and cultivate the mind, these are the things Buddhism has taught me. I am a human being, I feel anger, hatred, irritated and all the negative emotions towards others but I’m thankful to His teachings because I am always reminded to show kindness whenever possible. And its always possible! 

Image

2. Family. We don’t have a family day every Sunday but the fact that we are living under the same roof, Mom and Dad work their butts off to support us make me feel so lucky to have them. 

3. Friends who spoil. These are my great friends who spoil me, support me in my craziness but never fail to remind me not to lose track. 

4. Running. I just started this year and running gives me enough endorphin to love life. And go, run for the extra mile. I also lose weight! Hahahaha

5. Jeremy Lin. Hahahaha. Who would have thought, this girl who can’t dribble properly will be an overnight Basketball fan. Thanks to Jeremy Lin and the Linsanity he brought to the world. I know its beyond the concept of believe-in-your-dreams but I want to dream anyways. Hahaha

Image

knicks #17. Linspiration ha? Haha

6. Work. I hate it. No, I abhor it. But wait, come to think of my investments when I started to work. It really paid off. I was able to buy my running shoes with my own money and started to get fit, my Jeremy Lin shirts that gives me happiness whenever I’m wearing them, the treats to my friends and my family and last thing, the opportunity to practice compassion and kindness amidst the numbers of problematic clients calling from the other side of the globe. 

These are the things that made me come alive. I know there are so much to be grateful for and I have litanies of them, however, my excitement to post my first entry won, so these boiled down to six 🙂

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Come Alive at Wake me up Universe.

meta